What Are The Criteria?

How are the accreditation and National Best Drink Awards are assessed?

Owners, Directors or the Senior Manager authorised, selects three drinks to be assessed.

  • Drink 1 will always be, Single Espresso.
  • Drink 2 will be one of, Cappuccino or Latte or Flat White or Filter Coffee/Cafetiere Coffee or V6; Aeropress or Chemex.
  • Drink 3 can be either, Hot Chocolate or Tea.

The main body of points are awarded for drinks Taste, Temperature, and Visuals; other areas that are also evaluated in this section is the appropriate apparel, speciality and creativity. Each Best Drink Accreditation is based on the drinks points only, on the assessment form. The Services and Environmental Factors of the assessors form for the Accreditation Awards are not taken into account. All entrants will have consistently delivered excellence in all stages of the Accreditation process. The process of choosing the outlets whose drinks and service have gone above and beyond what the assessors have found.


Find out what accolades can be achieved through our accreditation process.

BSA "Raising Standards" Accolade
This is what the Accreditation system is all about and the winner(s) will have invested time and effort is raising their own standards. They will have bought into the BSA Accreditation process and will have delivered exceptional improvements in all areas.
BSA "Newcomer" Accolade
This will awarded to venues which have performed well in their first year of taking part in the BSA assessment programme, combining excellent service with high standards. The entrants may have been open for ten years or just opened but they must be completely new to our accreditation process.
BSA "Overall Experience" Accolade
The winner will have shown exemplary standards in all areas of the accreditation programme and are a true ambassador for the BSA gold standard drinks awards and the Five Cup Accreditation programme.